Forester Football Gridiron Gang

      The official website of the Lake Forest College Football Parent Group

2018 Banquet Recap

A successful 2018 season was capped with a successful night as the annual Lake Forest College football team banquet was held at the Great Wolf Lodge on Sunday, January 20. The night opened up with a brief introduction from Head Coach Jim Catanzaro and was followed up by parting words from each of the non-returning seniors. Senior speeches included wisdom to the underclassmen, favorite Lake Forest College football memories, and what the experience meant to them.

The 2018 Most Valuable Player was awarded to senior offensive linemen Ethan Sheirer. Ethan was a three-and-a-half-year starter at the center position for the Foresters. In 2018 Ethan helped lead the offense to average 355.2 yards per game and 29.0 points per game. He also served as a valuable mentor to a young offensive line. Ethan was voted First Team All-Midwest Conference South Division.

Junior defensive end Jordan McInerney was voted the 2018 Most Improved Player. During the 2018 season Jordan changed positions, moving from outside linebacker to defensive end. This transition proved to be a productive one as Jordan averaged a team best 74.0 total tackles, 9.0 sacks, 23 tackles for loss, and 3 forced fumbles. He was also voted First Team All MWC South.

This season's Rookie of the Year award went to freshman defensive lineman Jamari Tansmore. In 2018 Jamari wasted no time adjusting to college football as he played in all 10 games. Jamari recorded 27.0 total tackles, 1 sack, 3.5 tackles for a loss, and 1 forced fumble.

The fourth annual Steve Little Memorial Award was given to an individual who embodies the student-athlete that works the hardest for his academic accomplishments – striving for both academic and athletic achievement. This year's winner was senior quarterback Zach Wade.

The fifth annual Tom Carr '70 Forester Community Engagement Award honors student-athletes who make an impact not only on the football field, but off the field in the College community as well. Individuals who receive this award should demonstrate consistent and significant leadership in the threefold spirit of the award: team engagement, campus involvement, and community service. The 2018 award winner was senior wide receiver Chris Edomwande.

The Benny Watters Scout Team Players of the Year (one for offense and one for defense) are given to players who show continual growth and leadership on the scout team. This season's offensive award winner was sophomore quarterback Caleb Moore. The 2018 defensive award winner was freshmen defensive lineman Eric Buie.

The 2018 Coaches Award was presented to senior student manager Lexey Bruni. Lexey has been a committed member of the football program for the majority of her college career at Lake Forest. Her behind the scenes efforts help the football staff stay organized and efficient, and provide exceptional support of the players experiences off the field.

Mr. Andrew Taylor received the 2018 Gridiron Gang Award, given to a fan, supporter, or family that goes above and beyond to support Forester football. The Gridiron Gang as a whole puts tremendous effort into making the experiences of the players uniquely special, win or lose.

In 2012, the Forester Pride Award was created in recognition of the player that best embodies what a Forester football player should be – passionate, resilient, disciplined, and tough. This individual also cares about his teammates and his team's success far more than he cares about his own. Renamed the DJ Baker Forester Pride Award, this award now takes on additional meaning after the passing of defensive lineman DJ Baker. The winner of this award exhibits an infectious spirit that resonates with his teammates and engages people from any background to feel the warmth, love, and care that DJ shared with his teammates. This individual should also bring great energy and emotion to the program and most importantly, he must carry the torch of our program into the community both on campus and beyond. There is no greater honor in the Forester program. The 2018 DJ Baker Forester Pride Award was given to senior wide receiver Chase Creviston and linebacker Charlie Timmerman.

The Foresters also announced three of their four team captains for the 2019 season as voted on by their teammates. Seniors Billy Degnan, Johnny Laponte, and Jordan McInerney were selected to lead the team. The remaining captain will be named at a later date.

List of Awards
MVP: Ethan Sheirer
MIP: Jordan McInerney
ROTY: Jamari Tansmore
Coaches Award:  Lexey Bruni
Gridiron Gang Award: Mr. Andrew Taylor
Benny Watters Scout Team Offensive POTY: Caleb Moore
Benny Watters Scout Team Defensive POTY:  Eric Buie
Tom Carr '70 Community Engagement Award: Chris Edomwande
Steve Little Memorial: Zach Wade
DJ Baker Forester Pride: Chase Creviston & Charlie Timmerman